The European Union has added 11 names to its existing list of Zimbabwean officials banned from travelling within its territory. France, which chairs the 27-nation bloc until the end of this year, announced the punitive measure after a meeting of foreign ministers in Brussels.

The EU already bans 160 Zimbabweans – including President Robert Mugabe – alleging human rights infringements. EU ministers also backed a global call for Mr Mugabe to resign.

The names added to the list were not immediately available but they are believed to be mid-level officials. “For those 11, it’s been done,” French Foreign Minister Bernard Kouchner told reporters.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: