The nine ministers, who were recently appointed in a cabinet reshuffle, were sworn-in before President Yoweri Museveni at State House Nakasero.janet

The new ministers are; Aggrey Awori (information and communication technology), First Lady Janet Museveni (state for Karamoja affairs), Lt. Gen. Jeje Odongo (state for defence) and the Rev. Fr. Simon Lokodo (industry). Others were; Perez Ahabwe (state for local government), James Kakooza (primary health care), Lt. Jessica Alupo (youth and children affairs), Asuman Kiyingi (lands) and Henry Aggrey Bagiire (agriculture).

The ministers took two oaths in a brief ceremony conducted by the Secretary to the Cabinet and head of public service, John Mitala.

In the first oath, they undertook to be faithful and bear true allegiance to their nation and to preserve, defend and protect the Constitution.

In the second, they pledged to freely give counsel and advice to the President of Uganda and his lawful successors.

They also vowed not to divulge sensitive information that would come to their knowledge as they execute their duties.

The centre of attraction was on the First Lady and Awori, a former Uganda People’s Congress diehard, who defected to the Movement.

After taking his oath, Awori stepped from the podium to where President Museveni sat and they shook hands. The First Lady, just like all the other ministers, followed suit.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: