EXPIRED COCA COLA DRINKS SELLING IN NIGERIA


The day was Thursday the 30th of April, location; Oregun, Lagos. An opened bottle of diet coke lay before my desk. I’d always being a fan of coke products- their catchy ads and mantra were as popular as Christmas carols. But there was something wrong with this particular beverage- a swig from the bottle was enough to arrive at a conclusion. The best before date on the bottle’s cap answered my doubts. The drink or rather the poison before me was more than a month old.coke6

On the double ConnectAfrica correspondents made a dash to the shop where the drink was bought. A rather naïve sales attendant apologetically collected the drink from the correspondent. Her offer to replace the drink only unearthed more rot. Stacked in a corner of the room were cartons of expired diet coke. In alarm, she opened the refrigerator and more expired diet cokes smiled at us. Off course all the bottles bore the obnoxious date-03/03/2009. We snapped some pictures; for the media and NAFDAC-Nigeria’s food and drugs regulatory body.

A visit to the shop an hour later and the Augean stable had been cleaned spick and span. Our second coming however was for a different purpose. ‘When did Coca Cola supply these drinks?’ we asked her. ‘On the 18th of  April’ the rather alarmed salesgirl  hurriedly produced a supply card supporting her claim.

Next bus stop was to get Coca Cola’s side to this story. But like most close end cases; mum was the word from the beverage giant. An arrogant public relations culture entrenched in the annals of corporate Nigeria is gradually and quickly becoming a fad-keep quiet and the story will run out is the default line of defence. It isn’t that NAFDAC has gone to bed since its blunt and vivacious boss ascended to the illustrious federal cabinet; the truth is Dora Akunyili was so effective in dealing with the drug-rot, she personified NAFDAC. I guess that explains why the agency’s unattractive and outdate website still refers to Dora as its DG and its most current news is 2 years old!! Ironically NAFDAC airs a public awareness drama were several children are poisoned when a mendacious importer decides to re-edit the dates of the noxious substance for profit. Several children are hospitalized and NAFDAC-the saviour mankind saves the masses at the end of the daycoke51

However existing laws should make errant companies like Coca Cola face the music squarely. Because unlike the drama where we all have a second chance to analyse, make corrections and poke fun here and there, this is reality, this is happening now. Coke addicts would love to be reminded that the coke side of life is fun and health rather than denial and death.

Emma, CONNECTAFRICA

19 Responses

  1. Dear Emma,

    We note your complaint and are deeply concerned about your dissatisfaction regarding the Diet Coke bottle purchased recently. We are equally suprised that no response was received when you contacted our offices. We would very much like to have the details of this enquiry/complaint (where you called/visited, when and who, if available, attended to you).

    Quality is a major priority for us at Nigerian Bottling Company Plc and we assure you of our diligence in ensuring the safety and quality of every product that reaches our consumers daily.

    In order for us to understand what could have happened and prevent a future reoccurence, we would appreciate your contacting our Customer Care Centre on 01-7920512 / 7919397.

  2. i appreciate your response to this story and your desire to impress on our consciences Coca cola’s culture on its ‘esteemed valued customers’. this story was carried out as an investigative piece and off course you must understand the need to protect the respondent’s identity. however what isn’t in doubt is the shop was loaded to the till with expired cartons of diet coke. the supply card indicated the drinks were supplied after the date of expiry. Finally to assist in your investigation you could carry out a reconnaissance on your supply line along billings way, Oregun , Ikeja, Lagos

  3. Dear Emma,

    We appreciate your prompt response.

    Please note that we are not requesting for the writer’s identity but rather and more importantly the outlet of purchase. However, this need not be disclosed on the web.

    We encourage you to place a call to our Customer Care Center on the numbers earlier given.

    Thanks.

    George Fagbore,
    Consumer Services Manager,
    Nigerian Bottling Company Plc.

  4. Wow this is ridiculous you think you can scare people into reading your story about EXPIRED SODA… I am sitting at my desk in AMERICA in my air conditioned building drinking a diet coke that is over 2 months beyond its expiration date right now. and guess what its fine. ITS SODA if it goes a month long it doesn’t become “poison” this is retarded. “On the double ConnectAfrica correspondents made a dash to the shop where the drink was bought.” WHAT THE HELL MAN a dash really its SODA SODA SODA YOU ARE RIDICULOUS. just because it is africa doesn’t mean everything is horrible just be happy that you are in a section that has soda at all you fat cat hippie(didn’t even think they existed).

  5. please i have a Cocacola product with me which i found 2Keys inside the Bottle…I never open the Bottle is still with me now…The product continue to change colour everyday…Plz contact me back.i need a good lawyer for this

  6. please i want you to put your products in check. i went to a nearby shop to buy a bottle of fanta and to my surprise, the fanta they gve to me was bad. i found some objects inside it. i have sent a mail to your perssonel office in nigeria nbut they did not reply me. though i did not know if the mail realy get there.
    by tomorrow if nothing happend, i will ask my friend in the NDLEA to come and collect the bottle. i thank God i did not open it. it is still cocked.
    Please treat as a matter of urgency.
    Regards
    Kenny

  7. pls i just want to know when the glass bottle of drinks will stop existing in nigeria,since the can is allover the market pls tell me through my simple email address

  8. Please,
    I am not sure if one is safe anymore here in Nigeria by taking your Product Coke presently. I am a regular drinker of Coke brand, and I have never had the cause to complaint before.

    But just recently, have been asking myself if taken Coke is safe anymore, this is because I have seen used a Straw in a bottled coke and I, an now with me is a Bottled Coke with only God knows what type of Organism or ? are in the bottle. I don’t know if to sue your company or make direct contact with your company Now.

    Please Advice.

  9. KILLER COKE
    Please,
    I am not sure if one is safe anymore here in Nigeria by taking your Product Coke presently. I use to be a regular drinker of Coke brand, and I have never had the cause to complaint before.

    But just recently, I have been asking myself if taken Coke is safe anymore, this is because I drank a bottle of Coke half way before I saw used Straw in it, and I was surprised. Two days later, I order for a Coke and now found in the unopened Bottled Coke some particles that which only God knows what Organism are in the bottle.
    So I kept it and now feel unsafe to drink Coke anymore. I don’t know if to sue your company or make direct contact with your Coca cola company Now Please Advice.
    My GSM is 2348053315893

  10. KILLER COKE
    Please,
    I am not sure if one is safe anymore here in Nigeria by taking your Product Coke presently. I use to be a regular drinker of Coke brand, and I have never had the cause to complaint before.
    But just recently, I have been asking myself if taken Coke is safe anymore, this is because I drank a bottle of Coke half way before I saw used Straw in it, and I was surprised. Two days later, I order for a Coke and now found in the unopened Bottled Coke some particles that which only God knows what Organism are in the bottle.
    So I kept it and now feel unsafe to drink Coke anymore and many others out there who do not kwon where to go. I don’t know if to sue the company or make direct contact with your Coca cola Company or NAFDAC. Now Please Advice.
    My GSM is 2348053315893

  11. NAFDAC WE DON DIE FOR LAGOS

    KILLER COKE
    Please,
    I am not sure if one is safe anymore here in Nigeria by taking your Product Coke presently. I use to be a regular drinker of Coke brand, and I have never had the cause to complaint before.
    But just recently, I have been asking myself if taken Coke is safe anymore, this is because I drank a bottle of Coke half way before I saw used Straw in it, and I was surprised. Two days later, I order for a Coke and now found in the unopened Bottled Coke some particles that which only God knows what Organism are in the bottle.
    So I kept it and now feel unsafe to drink Coke anymore and many others out there who do not kwon where to go. I don’t know if to sue the company or make direct contact with your Coca cola Company or NAFDAC. Now Please Advice.
    My GSM is 2348053315893

  12. I and my friend have 2 bottle’s of expired coke here in my office in port harcourt.I’m shocked and scared of taking coca cola products…08038951100

  13. I bought a crate of mineral for my shop in it was a bottle of fanta which a customer noticed some black stuff .When I looked closely I saw that the bottle was dirty and the bottom black.Im considering taking it to NAFDAC at oshodi since the bottle is still cocked .Please advice I can be reached on 0803 438 2497.

  14. Can I use paypal to pay for this?

  15. Coca Cola company doesn’t care if stores are selling their expired drinks or who drink them. In 2008 I left a comment on coca cola’s official website about a store in California where I just started working is selling large quantity of expired colas. Few days later, 2 coca cola employee arrived showing a copy of the comment to store manger and suggesting the store manager the whistle blower might be someone working in the store or knew their store operation. I was shocked. And guess what? As I’m writing this, I visit the cola cola’s website and the public comment/complain section on their website is not there anymore.

  16. I’m writing in regards to coca cola naija at 50 Celebration promo. I knw coca cola company to b a company of reputation & integrity. I happened to have participated in d promo, I Wz so lucky to win one of ur prizes, which is #5000. Five thousand naira. I Wz sent an SMS & a reminder to go 2 any gtbank to claim my prize. Reaching there, they..GTBANK, NEW LAGOS RD BRANCH, BENIN CITY, EDO STATE. said they’ve not received any notification frm coca cola. I tried calling COCA COLA’S customer care line which dey included in d text I received, but prove abortive. pls I’m making an appeal to all concern mgt to pls send my winnings to gtbank. Thanks 4 ur anticipated reply. CROWN CODE NUMBER: FG17177969. SOLOMON OGBU, Benin-city, EDO STATE.

  17. I have 4 cans of sprite right now on my table. My sec bouth the pack of 6 and 4 out of the cans were empty while the seal remain intact. This indicates that there was no leak atal. By the time of this report, I have called the number you gave above more that 10 time, it rings without anyone picking it up. After investigation I learnt the drinks were bought at a depot very close to your factory in Ikeja.

  18. i want to sue coca cola for selling a crate not one a crate of dirty drinks i have evidence a crate i want to speak to someone in the coca cola company to let them know before i go public

  19. I am truly thankful to the holder of this website who has shared this fantastic article at here. bfdeedkkdeae

Leave a Reply

