President Goodluck Jonathan looks set to emerge victorious in the presidential election held last Saturday. Jonathan, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has garnered more votes than his rivals, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) who placed second and Mallam Nuhu Ribadu of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) and the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) candidate who ranked third and fourth respectively as at press time.

The National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Attahiru Jega, who is the returning officer for the presidential election, is expected to announce Jonathan as winner of the election today.

Results from 29 states have officially been confirmed by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) office in Abuja as at press time, while the state collating officers had announced the results at the National Democratic Institute in Abuja, serving as the national collating centre.

Only the results from Adamawa, Borno, Taraba, Yobe, Gombe, Jigawa and Kebbi states. An analysis of the results released so far indicates that President Jonathan has won in 21 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

The CPC candidate, General Buhari who is trailing President Jonathan has won in seven states, while Mallam Ribadu who is third has won in only one state. Mallam Shekarau of the ANPP currently in the fourth position has yet to win any state.